2012: Spirit Indestructible

 

Image

“I have a spirit indestructible, a heart that was made pure, unbreakable and that’s for sure, unshakeable so give me more…”

 

2012 was a challenging year.  A year of growth, full of lessons. The worms and I  made new friends and integrated them into our crazy family of love and social entrepreneurship. 

Image

Growing a worm business, social venture, company, or whatever you may call it… is challenging, but in a good way. I couldn’t see myself doing anything else but this. Having the opportunity to work with strong, intelligent and passionate guatemalan women is a gift from heaven. 

Image

Meet Bonifacia Ixcoy. Boni was born in Quiché, in the highlands of Guatemala. After the civil war, Bonifiacia and her family where looking for a place to live and found a humble house in one of the communities that surround the city dump. Bonifacia can’t read or write properly, but she is in love with her worms. Whenever a new woman joins our group, she is the first to explain the worms favorite diet and reproduction process. She is more than amazing and practices vermicomposting since 2009. 

 

Image

 

I wish I could tell all my friends and beneficiaries’s stories today…. I will eventually because if there is one thing I learned last year is that vermicomposting may open hearts and strengthen the spirit. 

“I have a spirit indestructible, a heart that was made pure, unbreakable and that’s for sure, unshakeable so give me more…” – Nelly Furtado

Leave a Reply

